Sunday, November 21, 2010

Cambodia, Thailand Sign Agreement on Visa Exemption


Cambodia and Thailand signed here this evening the Agreement between the two neighboring countries on visa exemption for holders of ordinary passports.

The agreement was signed by Cambodian Deputy Prime Minister and Foreign Minister H.E. Hor Namhong, and Thai Foreign Minister H.E. Kasit Piromya.

Cambodian Prime Minister Samdech Akka Moha Sena Padei Techo Hun Sen and his Thai counterpart H.E.Abhisit Vejjajiva witnessed the signing ceremony upon their close-door bilateral meeting.

“It is now time to minimize conflict and maximize resolution and cooperation, not only in the bilateral but also multilateral frameworks as we did these last two days. This is the symbol of cooperation as neighbors,” said the Cambodian premier at the press conference held here today at the end of the CLV, CLMV and ACMECS Summits.

During his one-day working visit to Cambodia, Thai Premier Abhisit Vejjajiva participated in the 4th ACMECS Summit and was received in a royal audience by His Majesty Preah Bat Samdech Preah Boromneath Norodom Sihamoni, King of Cambodia, along with his Cambodian, Lao and Burmese counterparts and Vietnamese minister of Planning and Investment as well as the ASEAN secretary-general.

Thailand is the 7th ASEAN country that has signed the agreement on visa exemption for holders of ordinary passports with Cambodia. According to Undersecretary of State for the Cambodian Ministry of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation, the agreement will come into force in one month.

No comments:

Post a Comment